Presentation of the two Itzulia Basque Challenge routes

Itzulia Basque Challenge will feature 2 different routes.

World Tour route, same route as the final stage of Itzulia 2023

Medium-distance course, 80.6km and over 2,100 m of elevation gain.

13 January, Eibar, the two Itzulia Basque Challenge 2023 routes were today presented. The Gipuzkoan city, on the occasion of having been selected as European Capital of Sport in 2022, hosted the presentation of the World Tour bicycle touring event that is set to take place on 9 April 2023. The presentation was attended by the mayor of Eibar Jon Iraola, councillor Ander Curiel and president of OCETA Julián Eraso.

In the words of mayor Jon Iraola, “as mayor of a city so closely linked to cycling where the sport is integral to our industrial and historical heritage, we are proud that, once again, Eibar will be the location of the most decisive stage of Itzulia. Even though this year we won’t be able to enjoy the finish line in Arrate, it will be just as exciting to see how the riders put themselves to the test in one of the most demanding of races, this year bringing cycling to the very heart of our city. Eibar City Council will maintain its commitment to bring this important race on the cycling calendar to our city”.

For his part, the councillor for Sports, Ander Curiel, pointed out that “this race is another example of why Eibar has been chosen as European City of Sport 2023. Our city is the cradle of cycling and, therefore, we will always be committed to hosting top-level cycling competitions”.

As announced on bicycle touring social networks, two routes will be available, one will follow the same route as the final stage of Itzulia 2023, and the other, a medium-distance route, will be shorter and not so demanding.

The first of the two routes will have a length of 137.8 km and more than 3,600 m of elevation gain. Riders will be put to the test on this tough route with its 7 mountain passes. The second, the Medium-distance, will be 80.6 km long and feature 2100 m of elevation gain, with 4 mountain passes, two of which are category 1, one is category 2 and the other category 2.

Registration is now open via this link.

Leave a Reply

Keep reading

more news